Home Articles How to Deal With Your Google+ Account

How to Deal With Your Google+ Account

85
0

With the data breach of Google+, several users are skeptical about deleting their account. Read on to know more about how to delete your Google+ account…

Google is in deep trouble after it allegedly exposed the privacy breach of hundreds of thousands of users having their accounts on Google+. The personal data of over 500,000 users is reported to have been accessed by third-party developers, as per the report. However, Google says that it patched the data leak in March but chose not to disclose the expose fearing the legal proceedings likely to be carried out by regulators across the world.

Google, however, has vehemently denied that the external developers accessed the highly sensitive data other than a user’s name, email address, and other basic details visible under the profile. The Wall Street Journal report says that CEO Sundar Pichai was apprised of the breach, however, it goes on to cite Google saying that the parameters that amount to be taken into consideration as a data breach were never met after internal scrutiny of the type of data.

As a result, Google is going to shut down the consumer version of Google+ over the next 10 months, the company writes in a blog post. Google+ will likely cease to exist for the general public by August next year, which is a considerably long time after the mess Google is dealing with.

Google says Google+ currently has “low usage and engagement” and that 90 percent of Google+ user sessions last less than five seconds. Still, the company plans to keep the service alive for enterprise customers who use it to facilitate conversation among co-workers. New features will be rolled out for that use case, the company says. Google is focusing on a “secure corporate social network,” which is odd considering this announcement comes alongside news that the company left profile details unprotected.

However, the users who are still using Google+ or may have never cared to check they made a Google+ account and then abandoned it can delete their account. Here are the steps the users need to follow:

1. To check if you have a Google+ account, open Gmail and click on your profile photo. If it says “Google+ Profile”, you may as well have the account you made sometime in the past and forgot.

2. Clicking on the profile photo will take you to your Google+ profile. Now, click on Settings.

3. Now, you will reach the Settings for your Google+ account. Click on “Account” followed by a click on “Delete your Google+ profile”.

4. Google will now ask you if you want to keep your data or get rid of it as per your choice. Now click on the checkbox next to “Required” and proceed by clicking on “Delete”. That’s it. Your profile will now be deleted. Google will ask you the reason why you left Google+, which at this time, can be as simple as abandoning the platform for the good.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

41 − = 33